The Vessel
The Vessel
Podcast: Do I Seem Weird to You?
6
0:00
-30:45

Podcast: Do I Seem Weird to You?

A Reading of #6 + Some BTS Thoughts
6

Heyy there,

Some folks have suggested I offer an audio reading of my newsletter. Not a lot, but enough for me to feel flattered into trying it. :) And being someone who enjoys streaming certain longreads myself, I thought it could lend a fresh new way to consume The VSSL. So, I’m giving it a try!

The plan with these podcasts is to read the essay portion of the newsletter (in case you didn’t have time to do so yourself), and add some context around whatever story I’m telling.

Am now Ira Glass.

For this first episode, I’m reading my latest newsletter, Do I Seem Weird to You? It’s about comparing pandemic isolation to a previous flavor of loneliness I experienced a few years ago. Tangents were made, vulnerabilities exposed, and things got meta. Intrigued??

A couple show notes:

  • The quote I mentioned about not knowing why you write.

  • My boyfriend, Andrew, makes a surprise appearance! I say surprise because I spontaneously/haphazardly recorded our conversation on my phone so I could regurgitate his wisdom on the podcast later. Ultimately I decided to let his cute lil voice be heard! Also includes a not-so-cute yawn by me.

I have some insecurities around releasing this – it feels kind of gross and self-important to read your own writing and indulge in personal musings. Plus it can be pretty cringey to hear your own voice. But, what can I say – I wanted to try something new. Would love to hear your feedback.

I taught myself how to edit as I went, so please forgive any roughness! You should also be able to stream The VSSL on all major podcast apps.

Thank you as always for being here,

Vanessa

Leave a comment

Share

6 Comments
The Vessel
The Vessel
A newsletter about introspective pleasures and bummers from a thirty-something still trying to figure it out.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Vanessa Labi
Recent Episodes
  Vanessa Labi